Your Cart is Empty

April 19, 2023 4 min read

The second round of the WP Kart Championships took place this past Saturday, with racers from all over the Western Province competing for top honours. The event saw some intense racing action across all the classes, with drivers putting their skills to the test on the track. Let’s take a closer look at the results of each class.

Before we dive into the results of each class, it’s important to note that the entire paddock came together to pay tribute to Leigh Wadeley, who sadly lost her battle with cancer early last week. In honour of Leigh, a parade lap of all karts and drivers was held, as a mark of respect and to show support for her family. It was a poignant moment that highlighted the tight-knit community of karting and the bond that exists between all those involved. With that in mind, let’s now take a closer look at the results from each class.

Bambino (5th – 9th birthday)

In the Bambino class, it was a closely fought battle between the young drivers, with Michael O’Mahoney eventually taking the top spot on the podium in dominant fashion with three heat wins. He was joined on the podium by Yaqeen Gamieldien and Slater Smith, who finished second and third respectively. 

Carter Cedras, Jake Steyn and Celeb Lingeveldt rounded off the top 6.

Micro MAX (7th – 11th birthday)

The Micro Max class saw some thrilling racing, with Round 1 winner Michael Danks coming out on top after a hard-fought battle with young Liam Wharton. Wharton was on fire claiming his first Micro win and showing he means business this season.

An impressive performance from Jayden van der Merwe earnt him third overall as he was followed by Bambino winner O’Mohoney, Kiyaan Reddi and Ruan Lewis.

Mini ROK (8th – 13th birthday)

The Mini Rok class proved to be a highly competitive affair, with the top three drivers separated by just a few tenths of a second. In the end, it was out-of-towner Jack Moore who emerged victorious, with Max Boshoff taking second place and Sebastiano Human finishing third.

Just off the podium were Daniel Arendse, Max Denisov and Zac Boshoff.

Mini MAX (9th – 13th birthday)

The Mini Max class featured some outstanding driving from the young racers, with Keagan Beaumont romping to three straight wins to dominate the day. The action was all behind him as Cody Schultz held off Aaron Mason for P2 while relative newcomer Franco van der Merwe took P4 ahead of Liam Koekemoer and Nicholas Lennox.

Junior MAX (12th – 14th birthday)

The Junior Max class provided some of the most exciting racing of the day, with drivers pushing themselves to the limit on the track. In the end, it was Reese Koorzen who took the top spot, followed by William Marshall. Unfortunately, the blisteringly fast Keagan Beaumont who not only dominated the Mini Max class but also secured a new lap record in Junior Max was excluded from Race 1, all but ending his hopes for a podium. James Nash was up next in third. 

In what was anticipated to be one of the most competitive classes on the day, the results reflected just that. Less than half a second covered the top 10 in qualifying and tight racing was very much the order of the day from there.

Jordon Wadeley was just off the podium in fourth ahead of Joshua Smit and Jude Stuart.

Senior MAX (14th birthday +)

The Senior Max class saw some impressive driving from the more experienced racers, with Charl Visser,  Storm Lanfear, Ethan Stier and Matthew Wadeley putting on a show. With less than a tenth between them all day it was the experience of SA Champion Visser who took the win as he beat out Lanfear two races to one. Ethan Stier took the final spot on the podium ahead of an impressive P4 for rookie Julius Schwager as Wadeley suffered a difficult race 2 and 3 to finish in P5 ahead of Zac Laden.

DD2 (15th birthday +) and DD2 Masters (32nd birthday +)

The DD2 class was a thrilling spectacle, with three of the best karters in the world battling it out for the win. In the end, it was Sebastian Boyd who emerged victorious, with two race wins to the one of Joseph Oelz after race one winner Jason Coetzee was bumped down to P3 with a nose cone infringement.

Rafe Tayler and Jaden Jacobs both had action-packed races as they battled it out with the top running Masters.


The DD2 Masters class saw some impressive driving from the more experienced racers, with Conor Hughes taking yet another full house of race wins to win the day ahead of brother Michael and Jared Jordan, who lost the lead in race 2 after his chassis snapped.

Great drives from Niel Lambrechts and Steve Beaumont saw the in P4 and P5 as PJ Garbutt rounded off the top 6.


The WP Clubmans class provided some close racing action, with Sean le Riche taking the win ahead of Luca Wehrli and PJ Garbutt in second and third place respectively. Christopher Flack was next up in P4 ahead of Jade Smith and Dean Reichh.


Overall, the second round of the WP Kart Championships proved to be an exciting event, with some outstanding driving on display across all the classes. Congratulations to all the winners and we look forward to seeing more thrilling racing at round 3 in a few week’s time.

Like. Comment. Share

Issued on behalf of Western Province Motor Club (WPMC)

This is a copy of an article from the Racebook Media Website with permission, please view original article here

Leave a comment

Comments will be approved before showing up.