Your Cart is Empty

February 08, 2023 3 min read

The hard-fought finals went to Bertuca (KZ2), Egozi (OK), Aksoy (OKJ), Zulfikari (MINI Gr.3) and Venant (MINI Gr.3 U10).

Lonato (ITA), 05.02.2023

Great finals were held in South Garda Karting in Lonato for the first round of the WSK Super Master Series. This series, which had 334 drivers from 51 nations competing in the MINI, OKJ, OK, and KZ2 categories, ran its first of four appointments set for this season.

43 qualifying heats and 10 Prefinals later, the long and rigorous weekend in Lonato selected the first winners of each category: Bertuca (KZ2), Egozi (OK), Aksoy (OKJ), Zulfikari (MINI Gr.3), and Venant (MINI Gr.3 U10).

The winners of the Prefinals.
The winners of the Prefinals held on Sunday morning follow:
OK-Junior – Prefinal-A: Sebastian Lehtimaki (FIN) (Koski Motorsport/Tony Kart-Vortex-Vega);
Prefinal-B: Filippo Sala (ITA) (Sodikart/Sodi-TM).
MINI Gr.3 Under 10 – Prefinal-A: Albert Tamm (CHE) (BabyRace/Parolin-Iame-Vega);
Prefinal-B: Oleksandr Legenkyi (UKR) (Team Driver/KR-Iame).
MINI Gr.3 – Prefinal-A: Dean Hoogendoorn (NLD) (Kidix/KR-Iame-Vega);
Prefinal-B: Iskender Zulfikari (TUR) (BabyRace/Parolin-Iame).
KZ2 – Prefinal-A: Alex Maragliano (ITA) (Maranello SRP/Maranello-TM-Vega);
Prefinal-B: Alessio Piccini (ITA) (Birel Art Racing/BirelArt-TM).
OK – Prefinal-A: Luis James Egozi (USA) (Tony Kart Racing Team/Tony Kart-Vortex-LeCont);
Prefinal-B: Gustav Wisnieswki (POL) (Forza Racing/Exprit-TM).

The Finals.
KZ2 – Bertuca takes a solid win.

After winning at the WSK Champions Cup last week, Cristian Bertuca (BirelArt Racing/BirelART-TM-Vega) achieved another victory, making it his second straight in KZ2. The young Italian driver, who now ranks among the category's most exciting competitors after this victory, is undoubtedly set for a successful career. After taking the lead early on, the French driver Emilien Denner (Sodikart/Sodi-TM) came in second, and the German driver David Trefilov (Maranello SRP/Maranello-TM) eventually finished third. Other weekend leaders, including Frenchman Jeremy Iglesias (CRG Racing Team/CRG-TM), fourth, and Romanian Daniel Vasile (BirelArt Racing/BirelArt-TM), fifth, ahead of colleague Giuseppe Palomba, followed in the top places.
KZ2 Final Result.
1. Cristian Bertuca (ITA)
2. Emilien Denner (FRA)
3. David Trefilov (DEU)

OK – Good win to Egozi.
One of the main characters in OK appeared right away: the Dane David Walther (Koski Motorsport/Tony Kart-Vortex-LeCont). The American Luis James Egozi (Tony Kart Racing Team/Tony Kart-Vortex) and the Pole Gustav Wisnieswki (Forza Racing/Exprit-TM) were the two Prefinals winners who engaged in a battle for victory. Wisnieswki, who had been in the lead for the majority of the race, was beaten by Egozi in the final laps. After an impressive recovery, Frenchman Jimmy Helias (Ward Racing/Tony Kart-Vortex) placed third. The Italian Sebastiano Pavan (Tony Kart Racing Team/Tony Kart-Vortex) ended his comeback in sixth place, followed by the Brazilian Gabriel Gomez (CRG Racing Team/CRG-Iame), the Latvian Tomass Stolcermanis (Energy Corse/Energy-TM), and the Latvian Gabriel Gomez (CRG Racing Team/CRG-Iame).
OK Final Result
1. Luis James Egozi (USA)
2. Gustav Wisnieswki (POL)
3. Jimmy Helias (FRA)

OKJ – The Final goes Aksoy’s ways.
The Finnish Sebastian Lehtimaki (Koski Motorsport/Tony Kart-Vortex), who had won the Prefinal, lost the OK-Junior Final to the Turkish Hasan Aksoy Alp (Tony Kart Racing Team/Tony Kart-Vortex-Vega) only in the very last lap. Salim Hanna Hernandez of Colombia (Ricky Flynn/LN Kart-Vortex) finished third overall, while fourth place went to Christian Costoya of Spain (Parolin Motorsport/Parolin-TM) because Oleksandr Bondarev of Bulgaria (KR Motorsport/KR-Iame) was docked points. Jindrich Pesl of the Czech Republic (IPK Official Racing Team/IPK-TM) came in sixth.
OKJ Final Result
1. Hasan Aksoy Alp (TUR)
2. Sebastian Lehtimaki (FIN)
3. Salim Hanna Hernandez (COL)

MINI Gr.3 – Zulfikari wins the duel for the victory.
Iskender Zulfikari of Turkey (BabyRace/Parolin-Iame-Vega) defeated Dean Hoogendoorn of the Netherlands (Kidix/Alonso-Iame) in the last laps of the race, while Hoogendoorn, who had led until two laps remaining, came in fourth. The Romanian drivers Bogdan Cosma Cristofor (Team Driver/KR-Iame) and Vladimir Ivannikov (Gamoto/EKS-TM) preceded Hoogendoorn as well. Ilia Berezkin, the driver for the other Team Driver, finished the race in sixth place.
MINI Gr.3 Final Result
1. Iskender Zulfikari (TUR)
2. Bogdan Cosma Cristofor (ROU)
3. Vladimir Ivannikov

MINI Gr.3 Under 10 – Venant wins the sprint to the line.
Antoine Venant (Kidix/KR-Iame) defeated Oleksandr Legenkyi (Team Driver/KR-Iame), who had earlier won Prefinal-B and had been in the lead multiple times during the Final, in the category MINI Gr.3 Under 10, which was also marked by a battle. The Italian David Moscardi (AV Racing/Parolin-TM) finished in a respectable third place, and the Frenchman Alessandro Truchot (Parolin Motorsport/Parolin-TM), who did well in qualification and the heats, came in fourth. Alex Molota (Firelly/EKS-TM), a Slovakian, finished fifth after making a comeback.
MINI Gr.3 Under 10 Final Result
1. Antoine Venant (BEL
2. Oleksandr Legenkyi (UKR)
3. David Moscardi (ITA)

Complete results are available at: www.wskarting.it/index.asp

The next rounds of the WSK Super Master Series:
2nd Rd – 19/02/2023 FRANCIACORTA / MINI – OKJ – OK – KZ2
3rd Rd – 05/03/2023 SARNO / MINI – OKJ – OK – KZ2
4th Rd – 30/04/2023 CREMONA / MINI – OKJ – OK – KZ2

WSK Promotion
Press Office
Ph. Sportinphoto

This is a summery of an article written by the WSK press office, you can find further details here


Leave a comment

Comments will be approved before showing up.